Startseite > Blogroll > Livestream: Vatikan vor UN-Ausschuss für Menschenrechte, 16. jan – CCR/SNAP

Livestream: Vatikan vor UN-Ausschuss für Menschenrechte, 16. jan – CCR/SNAP

Livestream:  Vatikan vor UN-Ausschuss für Menschenrechte, 16. jan – CCR/SNAP

The Vatican will be questioned by the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child

Greetings from Geneva where, this Thursday, the Vatican will be questioned by the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child about its record on child sexual violence.  This is the first time the Vatican has been called by an international body to account for its handling of the crisis of sexual violence throughout the Catholic Church. CCR will be there with our clients, the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests (SNAP).

Directly after the hearing, SNAP leaders and CCR experts will host a livestream report-back to update survivors, advocates, and supporters. Tune in on Thursday, January 16, at 8pm CET (2pm EST).

You can follow the global conversation about this historic hearing via the Twitter hashtag #HolySeeConfess.  You can also ask questions before or during the report-back by tweeting to the hashtag or emailing your questions to askCCR@ccrjustice.org. We will answer as many as possible during the livestream.

Throughout the world, children and vulnerable adults have been and continue to be subjected to widespread and systemic rape and sexual violence by priests and others associated with the Roman Catholic Church. The Vatican’s policies and practices enable this violence.  In February 2013, SNAP and CCR submitted reports to the Committee on the Rights of the Child, detailing how the Holy See has violated the core principles of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

You can also watch the hearing live in its entirety.  From 10am-12pm CET (4am-6am EST), the Vatican will be reviewed on its compliance with the Convention on Rights of the Child. From 3pm-6pm CET (9am-12pm EST), the Vatican will be reviewed on its compliance with the Optional Protocol on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution, and Child Pornography.  Both broadcasts will be in English.

For more information on our efforts to hold the Vatican accountable see our webpage and factsheet. Thank you for standing with CCR and SNAP as we work towards a safer future for children in the care of Catholic clergy.

 

Answer- Antwort - reponse - risposta

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

WordPress.com-Logo

Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Twitter-Bild

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Facebook-Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

%d Bloggern gefällt das: